the daily doyle


Why Do I Have a Blog?
April 30, 2011, 12:06 am
Filed under: Stupid stuff

I am a blogger. I must admit that now. Hi my name is Doyle and I’m a… blogger.

It wasn’t always this way. Sometime, not so long ago, I had no idea how to start a blog and wasn’t really all that clear about why to start a blog in the first place.

But I did have a dream to someday be a professional writer. I even had a vague plan on how to do it. Eventually I realized that blogging was the first step toward my life of words, deadlines, readers, some sort of fame and maybe even enough money to fend off starvation.

So here’s the plan with my blog, The Daily Doyle. I am going to write a new article every single day, for 100 days. I have three completed. Today’s article is a little short but it’s an article.

In my 100 days I hope to learn a few things. First I want to learn that I really can do it. That would be a big thing. A writer has to, you know, write. And I love this quote: “…by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the magination to improvise.  The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt”. ~Sylvia Plath

Second, I want to learn what people like. I hope many people read my articles and provide their feedback, good or bad, to take my writing skills to the next level.

Third, I will have some material to use to demonstrate my writing ability to those who may want to hire me someday. I’ll have a portfolio, so to speak. The articles will be diverse enough to show some depth. However, since I’m picking all the topics and pretty writing these from the seat of my pants, the articles will really paint a picture of who I am and what is important to me. I’m not sure I’m all that happy about putting my soul out there for everyone to see and probably laugh at. But I’m doing it.

Thank you for reading. If you have not signed up as a subscriber, please do.

I’ll be in touch, every day as a matter of fact.

Best,

Doyle

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sounds like a great idea! Don’t forget me when you need a proofreader, even though you’re pretty much perfect at it. I did find one error in the first post, not that I was trying!

Comment by Kelly

Hey, you should give your website; I don’t mind a shameless plug. Everybody, for proofreading service, you can’t beat http://www.fixmytext.com. Kelly will take care of you. Since I gave you free advertising, can you tell me what my one error was for free?

Comment by doylemills

Just make your post shorter 🙂
My personal opinion is that if you can express the same thing shorter – totally do 🙂

Comment by Je

Good one Je, I’ll keep that in mind.

Comment by doylemills

I disagree about keeping the blogs short. This is your voice and it should be said the way you would say it.

Comment by KarenH

That’s a good point too Karen. I think I’ll have to just make sure I’m not being verbose, that I do say exactly what I want effectively without lots of unnecessary words.

Comment by doylemills




Leave a Reply

