the daily doyle


Skateboarding – How Cool is That?
May 2, 2011, 12:31 am
Filed under: Fun stuff

I kind of don’t get why skateboarding is so cool. But it is! And skateboard lingo has a least four words (sick, rad, tight and sweet) that all mean cool. They also had “gnarly” but that fell by the wayside somewhere in the 80s.

Skateboarding is a pretty simple thing, a piece of wood with four wheels under it and you ride around on it. If you’re capable of it, and willing to risk your bones, joints and head you can do some gnarly, oops, I mean rad, tricks.

“I consider skateboarding an art form, a lifestyle and a sport.” -Tony Hawk
 
The coolness of skateboarding transcends any coolness involved in the tricks or the simple fun of riding around. It has a style all its own from the ground up with purpose-built flat-bottom shoes from a dozen companies like Vans and Fallen.

So what is it? The freedom maybe, the idea that you can just skate away at any moment. Drop your board to the ground, put one foot on, push with the other foot and you’re gone, and looking cool doing it. If you’d rather roller blade, well, you gotta plan ahead and get the wheels on your feet. Then when you get where you’re going you have to get the skates off and of course you have to carry shoes with you. Not cool. Rollerbladers don’t even have a style, unless you consider wearing knee, elbow, wrist guards and a helmet as some kind of style.

Skateboarding has great appeal because it’s pretty easy to get started. The equipment isn’t so expensive unless you just demand the very best. There are always lots of skateboards for sale on ebay and Craigslist and you can really get a bargain.

And really, anyone can do it.

Even me! As of last week, I’ve taken up skateboarding. I’m no Tony Hawk but I’m having a good time. This wasn’t really my choice. My son coerced me into it. I’m doing pretty well, haven’t fallen once! But I certainly have jumped off (“bailed” in skateboarder lingo) a few times.

I don’t know if I’ll look cool doing it but I’m going to try. So if you see a 48-year-old guy riding around dressed cool and all smiles, it might be me. Number one, don’t run over me! And also say hi.

And I want to give a shout out to my friend Dennis Martinez, 1977 world skateboarding champion and ’78 US champion. Nobody ever rose so quick and fell so hard. When he was 16 he made $40,000 a month, then sometime after that fell into a world of drug addiction and spent the next 20 years as a needle drug addict. Not cool. But now Dennis is on top again, doing good work, helping prisoners and drug addicts set their lives right. Love you man, keep it up! Check out Dennis at http://www.sdtrainingcenter.com/ and also check out D.O.P.E the Movie (D.O.P.E. = Drug Or Prison Eventually), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJ4CtbpUT7Q. Dennis is still gnarly.

Doyle

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I believe the saying “Pride Goeth Before a Fall” originally referred to skateboarding.

Comment by KarenH




Leave a Reply

