the daily doyle


A Country Boy Can Survive
May 6, 2011, 1:11 am
Filed under: Philosophical stuff

My theory is – a country boy can survive anywhere but a city boy could never survive in the country. Maybe it’s just because of the song.

I wonder if there is anyone reading this who doesn’t know the song. It’s Hank Jr. Hank WILLIAMS Jr. Bocephus. For anyone who might not know. Good song, check it out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I4s0nzsU1Wg

The lyrics are just great – “you can’t starve us out and you cant makes us run”, “ain’t too many things these ole boys can’t do”, which both sound pretty tough. The song also shows some humility in these lyrics, “we say grace and we say Ma’am and if you ain’t into that we don’t give a damn”.

I’ve sung this song, to myself, many times, maybe just to remind myself to keep surviving. I sang it once while I was rigging the wiring up to steal 220 volts from the control panel of a running elevator for my arc welder while straddling a 4-foot water puddle at my feet. I survived.

I also sang it in my kitchen in Caracas while making up some cornbread, chicken and dumplin’s, oh so good. That’s really surviving.

I sang it at 3am walking through Sydney’s red light district where the, um, ladies of the night probably are not ladies, if you know what I mean.

I sang it in Amsterdam as I forcibly ran off a guy who was bothering my female companion and me, saying some rather improper things to the young lady. I suppose he was trying to sell us drugs, not entirely sure, but he ran off, as intended.

A country boy can survive.

So what of a city boy? Is it fair for me to suppose that someone raised in the city won’t have similar survival skills? It’s probably very unfair. I guess it depends a lot on the person.

But I think there is something to this idea that country people do survive better. This is just my theory but it could have some merit. When you grow up in civilization, like a city or town, some place with infrastructure and people who do various things to help everybody survive, I think you get into an interesting mindset. I think you get the idea that no matter what happens, you can find somebody to tell about it and the problem can be solved. If you’re hungry you find somebody who’ll sell you something to eat. Nothing wrong with that. It works for the environment you’re in.

In the country however, it’s a different mindset. If you need something, you get it or make it somehow. There is no “ask”, there is only “do” which sounds like some saying of Confucius but probably isn’t. In the country, if you need food, you kill it or pick it, or plant it and pick it later.

I think a country boy can apply “get it or make it somehow” to life in the city much better than a city boy could apply “find somebody to complain to” in the country. Just a theory.

Thanks for reading.

Doyle

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I admire a man who’s not, to coin a phrase, “infrastructure-dependent.” My own H3 definitely was not. You gotta figure, if that infrastructure comes tumbling down, you are gonna need infrastructure-independent survival skills (or “iiss”). And even in the most urban of urban settings, in times of civil or natural disaster, that’s just what can and does happen.

But in a bizarre twist of irony, some goofballs decided they couldn’t leave good enough alone and ran methamphetamine into the rural communities. Many thousands of good ol’ boys have derailed those survival skills on that drug. It actually might be because this drug started out being made in the country where no one would detect the stink and the activity. Since that’s where the drugs were, that’s where the customers were. Drug manufacture and peddling is cruel anywhere, anytime, but peddling into the heartland is a particular tragedy.

Comment by KarenH

Karen, you speak sooth. It is a tragedy. My own home of Eastern Kentucky is definitely ravaged with drugs. I’m not sure meth is really that big. Psychiatric drugs (ritalin, prozac, xanax, luvox, valium and on and on) are rampant for sure. There are some serious morphine addicts. And, the biggie these days, the pain pills. Oxycontin, oxycodene and all the rest. Horrible. It is dragging people down for sure, which I suppose is the intention.

Comment by doylemills

Maybe you didn’t know that Florida has been the hot source for prescription opiates headed to Kentucky. More recently, Philly and ohio have opened up as new sources.

The other KY drug of note is weed because so much of it us grown in the Daniel Boone forest. Maybe it’s wrong of me to divert this blog off into drug abuse but it causes particular pain to see our core survivalists cut off at thd knees this way.

When I went to the Oklahoma state prison rodeo, there sure were a lot of white country boys in white shirts, blue jeans and cowboy hats waving to their wives and girlfriends through the wire fences. You had to guess it might have been drugs or alcohol that put them there. Jail as a solution for addiction is such a bad solution.

Comment by Karen

No worries on diverting the subject to the drug abuse issue. The blog just goes wherever it goes.
I will be doing some posts on the drug problem soon. One of them, probably really controversial, is whether drugs should be legalized. I am VERY anti-drug, VERY VERY. But I’m not simple-minded enough to think that we can eliminate drug abuse by making it a crime. And you are correct of course, jail is a very poor solution for drug addiction, when there are real solutions available.
We’re losing the “war on drugs” quite obviously.

Comment by doylemills

Comment to ” A country boy can survive”

I really like this one.
People who were brought up and who live in the country do learn to produce food, they learn to cook indoors and out, and just usually they learn to take care of emergencies.
Very good, Doyle.

Mary Collins

Comment by Mary V. Collins

To be honest, I know some country boys that would never make it on their own on.

Comment by Opiate Addiction




Leave a Reply

