the daily doyle


F%#@ing Profanity
May 14, 2011, 12:55 am
Filed under: Funny stuff

Hope you like this d#$@ article!

Isn’t it funny how some words are considered taboo, and they can’t be spoken or written in polite company? They’re just words right, what’s the big deal?

George Carlin built the early part of his career making people laugh with his “Seven Words You Can Never Say on Television.” It’s really funny and insightful, you should check it out if you haven’t seen it. http://www.funnyordie.com/videos/8fa6475547/george-carlin-seven-words-from-classicstandupfan

This is my blog, not television, so I could use those seven words if I chose too.

The point of this article really is just this one paragraph. It seems to me that there are no intrinsically bad words, it’s only a matter of whether the words are acceptable to the person who will hear them. So one uses different words with friends at the pub than at a visit with Grandma. I’ve always told my children this, even from a very young age.

Maybe it would be better just to vow to never use the “forbidden” words at all, ever. That could make life simpler and you wouldn’t be offending anyone.

Why do we cuss anyway? Maybe everyone has a different reason but I believe the most common use is just to put some emphasis on what you have to say, give it some punch. “Get up and get to work” just deosn’t have the same thrust as “Get your ass up, and F%#@in’ get to work.”

Profanity often starts in the childhood or teenage years and kids often just uses it seem/feel older.

General George S. Patton had a great way of explaining why he used profanity to such a degree: “When I want my men to remember something important, to really make it stick, I give it to them double dirty. It may not sound nice to some bunch of little old ladies at an afternoon tea party, but it helps my soldiers to remember. You can’t run an army without profanity; and it has to be eloquent profanity. An army without profanity couldn’t fight it’s way out of a piss-soaked paper bag. As for the types of comments I make, Sometimes I just, By God, get carried away with my own eloquence.” -General George S. Patton.

I really couldn’t have said it any better.

Doyle

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am sleepy, and have been trying to get an example of “eloquent profanity” and cannot get one.
I do agree, Doyle, that the people around you, and their reality should be considered before you start to get very eloquent.
I recall playing cards with my parents, and I lost,and said something like a Methodist minister would consider profanity and not OK.

My father was a Methodist minister, and when he heard me, he turned white, and I fetl very bad. For me, it was not worth it. He lived, and so did T; but you sure want to be aware of the people around you before you get too eliquent.

No lightning came from above to punish me, and I agree that simply words are just that.

But I don’t want anyone to turn white from words I use!!!

Mary

Comment by Mary Collins

That’s a very good description of the situation Mary, absolutely. Thanks for understanding. 🙂

Comment by doylemills




Leave a Reply

