the daily doyle


From Perkins to Peppermint
July 18, 2011, 12:50 am
Filed under: General stuff

Show of hands please – how many people out there always take a shower before getting into bed?

Wow, that’s not many. I’m glad you don’t all sleep here!

The other night I came home from a late night dinner at Perkins restaurant with my son. Our house guest said, “you smell like Perkins”. I suppose I did.

So there I was, smelling like a middle-of-the-road chain restaurant, at bedtime. I could have just thrown on some pajamas and gotten into bed carrying the smell of our dinner, the place and all the people who’ve sat in that booth before. But I didn’t, I took a shower. I use Dr. Bronner’s Peppermint soap. Thus, I went from Perkins to Peppermint.

If someone told me to raise my hand if I take a shower before bed, I’m raising it. I always take a shower before getting into bed. Well, almost always. I surprised that everybody doesn’t. Possibly those who don’t do it are surprised by people like me, who do.

For those who don’t want to go to bed clean, why not? Is it really that much trouble? At night I’m in the shower for about 5 minutes. Anybody can spare 5 minutes.

I can think of many reasons why a shower is a good idea and really can’t come up with any reasons not to except for just plain laziness and the idea that you just don’t have time.

I grew up hearing repeatedly, “cleanliness is next to godliness”. Well that may be so. But I like this quote at lot: “Cleanliness becomes more important when godliness is unlikely.” -P. J. O’Rourke

So here are my reasons why a shower before bed is a great idea:

Reason #1: IF you’re sharing your bed with someone (lucky you!), that person certainly should appreciate the effort to get to bed clean, smelling good, ready to be close together for, well, whatever purpose you happen to mutually agree upon.

Reason #2: Your sheets stay clean longer. Who wants to wash sheets every day or every few days. I expect to get a week between washes.

Reason #3: You just never know what might happen. If some disaster should happen to befall your house the next day and you can’t spare  a time in the morning for a shower, you’ll at least be somewhat clean.

Reason #4: Your pajamas will go longer between washings, pretty much the same as reason #2.

Reason #5: A nice hot or warm shower can act as a soporific. That word means “causing or tending to cause sleep”. The heat relaxes your muscles, makes you more comfortable, thus it’s easier to fall asleep.

Reason #6: Because I said so DAMN IT, you little Sh.. Get the F… in that bathtub right now before I tan yer hide! This reason always worked great with my kids, not so well on wives and various girlfriends.

Are there reasons not to take a shower at bedtime? Maybe. I look forward to reading all about it in the comments.

-Doyle

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Reason #6… mayhap you’ve had the wrong girlfriends. 😉

As far as showers before bed go, I love to shower before bed, and normally do as well. But I disagree with Reason #5. They tend to wake me up, unfortunately. I can usually figure that, if I’m about to pass out, and take a shower, I’m guaranteed another 4 hours or more of being awake. *shrug*. But I do enjoy going to bed smelling of Lavender. It’s so much nicer than going to bed smelling of work, sweat, food and anger.

Comment by James E.

Most of the time I take showers in the morning because then I can fix my hair and feel fresh. Living in a cold climate you don’t get so dirty during the day because of many layers of clothes and also don’t want to take shower twice a day. But now because it’s hot I feel totally cooked in the evening and get into cold shower as soon as I get home.

Comment by Je




Leave a Reply

